Arizona Second Offense Extreme DUI
A Very Serious Legal Problem

DrunkDrivingDUI is a serious crime in Arizona and just about everywhere else in the developed world. This is an offense that’s charged as a crime, prosecuted as a crime and is seen as a crime on people’s records. However, most people would also agree that many who are arrested on suspicion of DUI and who have consumed alcohol before driving are guilty more of a bad mistake than of carrying any type of malicious intent. Unfortunately, that makes no difference in Arizona, and people who are convicted of DUI need to make sure they do not make this mistake again in the future.

This is particularly true if someone has been convicted of DUI in Arizona, for if someone makes this mistake again, he or she faces a very serious legal situation that could result in significant legal penalties. Below is a brief overview of what someone could face if charged with a second extreme DUI in Arizona. Anyone who is in this position needs to obtain the help of experienced Arizona DUI defense lawyers as soon as possible.

Second Offense Extreme DUI – A Brief Introduction

If someone is convicted of DUI in Arizona, he or she needs to avoid that charge for several years. If someone is pulled over and his or her BAC registers at 0.15 or higher with a prior DUI conviction on his or her record, that person will face a charge of extreme DUI. If the suspect is ultimately convicted of this charge, he or she could face the following penalties:

  1. 120 days in jail; up to 60 days may be suspended upon successful completion of the alcohol screening and treatment program
  2. Alcohol/drug screening evaluation and treatment/education as ordered by the Court
  3. $500.00 fine plus surcharges
  4. Motor Vehicle Department will assess points against your driver's license and may require Traffic Survival School
  5. Motor Vehicle Department will revoke your privilege to drive for one year because of the second extreme DUI conviction
  6. $1250.00 Arizona Prison Construction fine
  7. $1250.00 Department of Public Safety fine
  8. You may be required to pay jail costs
  9. $250.00 DUI abatement fund fee
  10. You will be required to install an interlock device in your vehicle for one year after your license is reinstated
  11. Up to 5 years of probation

Clearly, a minimum amount of jail time, thousands of dollars in fines, court costs and assessment fees and the loss of driving privileges is a heavy price to pay for a terrible mistake. That’s why people who face this charge need to take immediate steps to build as strong a defense as possible.

If you or someone you love has been arrested on suspicion of a second offense extreme DUI, you need to seek the help of Arizona DUI defense lawyers who have been fighting for the rights of those accused for many years. Contact the Law Offices of Douglas A. Schwab today to schedule an initial consultation.

Next: AGGRAVATED DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF ALCOHOL (FELONY)

Contact Us



gplus         Find us on Google+