Arizona Second Offense DUI and the Need to Take Immediate Action

Arizona is known around the country as a place where someone definitely does not want to face a charge for DUI. That’s because this is a jurisdiction that is notorious for the stiff penalties that someone can face even if he or she is convicted of DUI for the first time. As such, it should come as no surprise that someone who faces this charge for a second time after being convicted of an initial offense faces an even more serious legal situation. Someone in this position needs to act immediately in order to build as strong a defense as possible.

Below you will find a brief overview of what is involved with a second offense DUI in Arizona. You will also find a breakdown of the penalties that someone could face if he or she is convicted of this charge and how someone who faces this legal situation should react to it. Anyone who is suddenly dealing with this difficult challenge should seek the help of experienced Arizona DUI defense lawyers as soon as possible.

Second Offense DUI in Arizona

After someone is convicted of an initial DUI, that person’s clock begins to tick, so to speak. That’s because if that person faces another DUI charge within seven years of the first, he or she is suddenly looking at the penalties that apply to second offenses. It should also be noted that people who are arrested on suspicion of DUI for other substances such as marijuana or prescription medications can face prosecution for a second offense even if the first offense involved alcohol.

In addition, the penalties that someone can face if convicted of DUI for a second time in Arizona are extremely severe. These penalties could involve any or all of the following 10 remedies:

  1. 90 days in jail; up to 60 days may be suspended upon successful completion of the alcohol screening and treatment program
  2. Alcohol/drug screening evaluation and treatment/education as ordered by the Court
  3. $500.00 fine plus surcharges
  4. Motor vehicle department will assess points against your driver's license and may require Traffic Survival School
  5. Motor vehicle department will revoke your privilege to drive for one year because of the second D.U.I. conviction
  6. $1250.00 Arizona Prison Construction fine
  7. $1250.00 Department of Public Safety fine
  8. You may be required to pay jail costs
  9. You will be required to install an interlock device in your vehicle for one year after your license is reinstated
  10. Up to 5 years of probation.

Arizona DUI Defense Lawyers

Given the severity of these penalties, anyone who faces this situation needs to act immediately to begin building his or her defense. If you are facing this situation, seek the help of Arizona DUI defense lawyers who have been fighting for the rights of the accused for many years. Contact the Law Offices of Douglas A. Schwab today to schedule an initial consultation.

Contact Us



gplus         Find us on Google+